The Shop

by Jame’el

The buzzing sound of hair clippers, the distinct scent of shaving cream, the burning sensation of alcohol on my head, and the incomparable feeling of a fresh cut—the Barbershop. It all started around the mid-’90s. I was just 5 or 6 years old, but I can still remember trips to the barbershop, waking up around 6 am for a trip to the barber. Other like-minded customers also tried to be first because a Saturday barbershop visit can quickly become an all-day event. I’ve always hated the waiting game we played while sitting in the shop. However, the learning that took place while waiting played a huge part in my interests and hobbies today.

Sports

Darren cut hair in the chair beside my barber. He loved the Lakers. He would always talk about the dynamic duo of Shaq and Kobe and how they would kill any team with their pick and roll play. Kenny was my barber. He would have to suffer the experience of other patrons and barbers talking smack about his team, the Knicks. These discussions/arguments would at times become heated shouting battles that would go on forever. Consequently, this would ignite my love for basketball as I would grow up to play or watch on TV when I’d get home from school.

Music

As I sat and waited for my turn in the chair, I was always intrigued by the choice of music the barbers would play. Earlier in the morning, smooth jazz music would grace the ears of the waiting patrons. I sometimes enjoy listening to jazz music as a calming tool after a rough day. Later in the day, the barbers would listen to the poetry and storytelling of rappers like Tupac or Notorious B.I.G. I still enjoy the pleasure of both genres on any given day.

People

The shop also proved to be a good place to learn about people. It’s a place where all types of people connect on all types of things. We discuss sports, music, local news, and a host of other topics. Barbers were much more than hair stylists. As people arrived and sat in the chair, I quickly learned that barbers aren’t just barbers. They are therapists or sounding boards. People would come in and share the issues and ongoings of their lives with Kenny and Darren. No wonder you feel so much better after a trip to the barbershop/hair salon.

Author Derrick Barnes perfectly encapsulates the experience and feelings one goes through after a trip to the barbershop. In his picture book “Ode to the Fresh Cut,” he describes how optimistic and confident one feels after a trip to the shop. He writes, “When your barber is done, you’ll feel like a million dollars—and some change! When his fingertips hit you with that apple-green alcohol or that witch hazel, it’ll sting, but not like a scorpion or a hornet, more like an electric stamp of approval.” The next time you visit the barbershop or the salon, take note of the things you learn or how much better you feel after a trip to the shop.

7 responses to “The Shop”

  1. “Where have you been all day, Butchie?”
    “Barber shop.”

    ”Oh, ok.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do feel like Barbershops are often portrayed this way in books or movies, but to hear your real life experience solidifies it. Just don’t spend too long there, you have work to do for your boss- can Kenny help with the SBA schedule?

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I love the way this post brings me into an experience that I have never had myself. Your writing makes me feel like I’m sitting in that chair listening to everything that is going on in the shop. A great example of a windows moment! Thanks for writing. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lol I’m working on it!! I’ll let him know my boss says make it quick!

    Like

  5. I loved the intro to this slice! Great description throughout too!

    Like

  6. Very descriptive! Doug would always talk about leaving the club and sleeping in the car in front of the Tiny’s Barber Shop to be the first one in line on Saturday morning! And yes…the hair salon is my place to enjoy friends, family and stay informed about what’s going on in the community.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started